Bundoora Park - Blacksmith Barn
Skip Links
Bundoora Park Bundoora Park
 
Bundoora Park
Events  Feedback  A - Z Index  Search  
 
Bundoora Park
Home
Bundoora Park Farm
General Admission Fees and Opening Times
Parties & Functions
Location & Maps
Education, Recreation and Holiday Programs
Parklands & Conservation
Work Experience and Volunteering
Golf Course
Bundoora Park Cafe
Contact Us
About this Site
News
Subscribe
 

 Home>Bundoora Park Farm>Heritage Village>Blacksmith Barn  
Blacksmith Barn  Printer Friendly

The Roll Top Barn is a rare Scottish prefabricated galvanised iron barn dating from the 1880s. It was imported from Scotland by sailing ship and erected at "Paddy's Market" in Bourke Street (southwest corner of the Bourke St and Exhibition St intersection).

In about 1930 it moved to Prospect Hill (Mt. Cooper) and served as a hay barn before being re-erected on its present site in about 1939. A engine room was added to operate a chaff cutter within the barn and this provided horse feed required by the Victorian Police Remount Depot.
 
Blacksmith Barn
 
These days it is occupied by the Australian Blacksmiths Association (Victoria) Inc. and has the largest collection of operating forges in Australia. The Association has regular work days at the "Barn" from 11.00am to 4.00pm on the second and fourth Sunday of each month.
 



 
Larger text
Remove Images
Save Settings
This is the official web site of Bundoora Park,  ©2017.
Post: PO Box 138, Kingsbury VIC 3083,  Location: 1069 Plenty Road,  Bundoora, VIC   3083
Tel: (03) 8470 8170   Fax: (03) 9261 4875 
Disclaimer & Copyright | Privacy NoticeAbout this Site | bundpark@darebin.vic.gov.au